Every year, NAPAMA recognizes the work of two of our colleagues - a presenter and an agent-manager - with citations of excellence through the NAPAMA Award for Excellence in Presenting the Performing Arts and the Liz Silverstein Award for Agent-Manager of the Year. The recipients are chosen based on three criteria:  exemplary mentoring; setting an example of best practices, achievement and leadership; and cultivating and promoting diversity, practicing inclusion and creating equity for underserved members of our community.

The Agent-Manager of the Year award is named for the late, cherished agent-manager, Liz Silverstein, whose tireless and enthusiastic support and mentoring of artists and colleagues both in presenting and management, impacted the entire field by showing us all how shared knowledge and cooperation make for a better and more vital industry and working environment.

The NAPAMA Awards are presented at the annual APAP|NYC conference in January by the NAPAMA President and are included in the APAP program.

Join us at APAP 2020 as we honor the winners of the The Liz Silverstein Award for Agent-Manager of the Year and NAPAMA Award for Presenter of the Year on Monday, January 13, 2020 from 12:00-1:45pm in Hilton Grand Ballroom. (Tickets required)

Past Winners

See all our past award winners here.



The NAPAMA Awards are citations for excellence. The nominated recipient and his/her organization must be an active company involved in the performing arts industry representing artists, attractions or events that are deliverable to the presenting field and exemplify excellence in the field. Self-represented artists and producers are "Agent-Managers" of their own and are eligible for the Agent-Manager Award.

NAPAMA defines excellence as:

• Exemplary mentoring: the consistent guidance of less experienced or less knowledgeable colleagues in the performing arts.
• Setting an example of best practices, achievement, and leadership.
• Cultivating and promoting diversity, practicing inclusion, and creating equity for underserved members of our community.  

As for our third criteria above, we encourage a range of qualifications for promoting diversity and creating equity for others. These qualifications can be seen in programming, artist rosters or any inclusive practice for the participants in our touring performing arts industry. 

Nomination Process

Every year, NAPAMA members are invited to nominate one presenter and one agent-manager per NAPAMA member organization. The Board of Directors will vote upon the award winners from the pool of nominees.

SEPTEMBER - OCTOBER: Open Call for Nominations
NOVEMBER: Board Vote on Nominations
DECEMBER: Award Recipients Announced
JANUARY: Award Ceremony During APAP|NYC Conference

Nominations are made using the form below. Please note, the Board of Directors only has the information that is provided in the nomination form for consideration before voting. Assume that they are not familiar with the person that you are nominating when providing reasons for the nomination.

The deadline for the 2019 Awards is 5pm EST on Wednesday, October 30, 2019. Nominations received after the deadline will not be considered.


Only one nomination for each category per organization will be accepted. Nominations can be made confidential (only to be known by the NAPAMA Board), if requested on the nomination form.

Questions about the 2019 Awards can be directed to Gail Boyd, Chair of the NAPAMA Awards Committee.